Town Hall Meeting for citizen assistance being held by SC Disaster Recovery Office


Contact:  Beth Parks 803-331-9664





Columbia, S.C., March 27, 2017 – The South Carolina Disaster Recovery Office (SCDRO) will oversee $65.3 million allocated for the 24 counties impacted by Hurricane Matthew. The housing focused program will concentrate on the repair and refurbishment of homes based on eligibility and priority need. Like the 2015 Severe Storm recovery Action Plan, it will focus on serving the most vulnerable citizens, giving priority to those who cannot recover themselves. The counties served by this program include: Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter, and Williamsburg.


SCDRO will hold four town hall meetings during the first week in April to present the action plan and receive public feedback. The action plan will be posted on the SCDRO website at April 1 through April 14. The plan is designed to serve as many citizens as possible while concentrating on meeting the needs of the least resilient citizens. Based on public response, SCDRO may add or revise portions of the action plan before submitting it to the Department of Housing and Urban Development.


All town hall meetings will take place between 6:00 and 7:00 p.m.


April 3, 2017 Technical College of the Lowcountry – Beaufort Campus

Building 12

921 Ribaut Road

Beaufort, SC 29902


April 4, 2017

Francis Marion University

Lowimore Auditorium in the Cauthen Educational Media Center

4822 E Palmetto Street

Florence, SC 29506


April 4, 2017

Ellis Performing Arts Center

618 North Richardson Street

Latta, SC 29565


April 6, 2017

CD Joyner Auditorium

161 Elizabeth Street Marion, SC 29571


To be eligible for the program, citizens must have disaster-caused damage to their home as a result of the October 2016 Hurricane Matthew and own property or live in one of the 24 declared counties. Eligibility, however, does not guarantee assistance. Factors that determine citizen priority include income level, disability, and age.


For more information about the town hall events or the SCDRO Action Plan, citizens should visit the SCDRO web site at or email


# # #


Beth Parks

Public Information Director

South Carolina Disaster Recovery Office

(C) 803-331-9664